Grande Prairie City Council Announces New Police Commission Appointees

Grande Prairie City Council Announces New Police Commission Appointees

This news item was published 1 year ago, and may not contain the latest information.

Article Details

Date Published:
Category: Mayor & Council, Media Releases, Public Safety

Grande Prairie, AB - The City of Grande Prairie announced today the appointment of seven members to the new Grande Prairie Police Commission, a key milestone in establishing an independent and arms-length oversight body for the recently formed Grande Prairie Municipal Police Service. The commission will provide civilian oversight of the police service and ensure policing meets local needs, values, and priorities.

The five public appointees for the Grande Prairie Police Commission are highly qualified individuals with a wealth of experience and expertise in various fields. The group possesses strong knowledge in law, indigenous advocacy, business, community affairs, non-profit work, finance, human resources, conflict resolution, and public safety, among other areas. The City of Grande Prairie is confident that these appointees will serve the community with distinction and uphold the highest standards of accountability, transparency, and professionalism. They are joined by two appointees from City Council.

The members appointed are:

  • Kelly Benning
  • Timothy Burnham
  • Donna Koch
  • Natalia Reiman
  • Dan Wong
  • Councillor Kevin O’Toole
  • Councillor Dylan Bressey

“Today marks a significant step towards establishing a robust, diverse, and independent policing oversight body in Grande Prairie,” said Jackie Clayton, Mayor of the City of Grande Prairie. “With the appointment of these highly qualified community members to the Police Commission, we can ensure that our city’s policing needs are met with accountability, transparency, and professionalism. Council has every confidence that these appointees will serve our community with distinction and look forward to seeing the Commission come together to make a meaningful impact on the safety of Grande Prairie.”

The Grande Prairie Police Commission is responsible for forming and overseeing the establishment of policies for effective and efficient policing, appointing a Chief of Police, allocating funds, and ensuring sufficient staffing. The commission will consist of between 7 and 12 members appointed by council resolution for up to a three-year term.

The City of Grande Prairie is immensely grateful to all 72 applicants for their interest in serving on the Police Commission. For more information on the Grande Prairie Police Commission, please visit